Fedora on non-rooted Android phones - 2016 another update!

After much trial and error and fighting with permissions, I’ve managed to create a much more simpler way of getting a Fedora 23 chroot running on a non-rooted Android phone. So here it goes:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B-Bo26Xjw1ecTkVxX3BiUENhbG8/view?usp=sharing

SHA256: cac8137c15e2bd3321be120ee658efab5aeccaa62494455e2ca90936982844e3
File size: 290,476,814 bytes

This is only for ARM processors, sorry, if you need other architecture, please use the tutorial.

adb push [path to downloaded file] /sdcard/Android/obb/champion.gnuroot.fedora/main.3.champion.gnuroot.fedora.obb

That’s it! :)

If you want you can install LXDE with:

dnf groupinstall "LXDE Desktop"

and use the X server app by pelya from the Play Store to use it! This image already has mine .bashrc file which means you can run lxde with a simple startlxde! :)

I will try to update this with new Fedora releases. Just ping me if I forget.

Have a nice day!


PS. My last blog post is my most read one. I guess Fedora Planet is much bigger than I imagined! :) Thanks everyone.

 
67
Kudos
 
67
Kudos

Now read this

Perfection. Today. – Running Fedora on Dell XPS 7590

The new Dell XPS 7590 is a great machine. Like every great machine it has some drawbacks, but since it is much greater than the sum of its features you bond with it and forgive it. Take mine for example. Even though the keyboard is far... Continue →