Anyfed (Universal Fedora chroot tool) - First release

A small update. I wrote a small shell script which can set up a Fedora chroot anywhere (get the name now?) where a compatible kernel is. This means you can use minimal Fedora shell on almost any other Linux distribution.

Here is the project homepage and source code:

https://github.com/nmilosev/anyfed

You use it like this:

wget https://raw.githubusercontent.com/nmilosev/anyfed/master/anyfed && bash anyfed

The only prerequisites are that you have tar and wget in your $PATH, you don’t even have to be superuser. It should work on any recent ARM or x86_64 kernel. I’ve tested it on my Android phone, my Raspberry Pi (with LibreELEC) and a couple of virtual machines and it is working really good.

The use cases are very broad. For example for running software which isn’t available on your installed distribution, or to try out dnf and other Fedora-specific tools. Also, this could be very easily used for packaging software, so you don’t have to use a virtual machine, and you are really not losing any performance.

Here are some screenshots (Ubuntu and Arch):

VirtualBox_ubuntu_16_09_2016_19_21_07.png

VirtualBox_ubuntu_16_09_2016_19_26_28.png

Now you are just one command away from the Fedora shell. :)

Have fun!

 
23
Kudos
 
23
Kudos

Now read this

Running Fedora 23 Workstation Linux on an Intel BayTrail tablet

In my recent projects I’ve managed to run Fedora (for fun) on pretty much everything including: My phone (see my other post about GNURoot) NVIDIA Optimus laptop Raspberry Pi 2 (armhfp 23 with LXDE works great for me) Azure Virtual... Continue →