Booting UEFI USB stick on a Toshiba laptop (InsydeH20 bios)

If you have InsydeH2O bios, you may have some trouble booting from UEFI flash drive (with linux or Win8 or higher).

There is a ton of advice, like to switch to CSM boot mode, but that defeats the point of UEFI. So some tips for you:


To make UEFI flash drive, you don’t need any special tools, you just need FAT32 formatted usb drive with an active partition and EFI folder on it. So for example, I wanted to try Ubuntu 15.04 on my machine (Toshiba Qosmio X70-A-12X) so I did the following:


To boot this drive after many hours of trying, sadly only because of a bug:

So whats the trick?

My BIOS was not working correctly, and it didn’t register my USB drive. In the F12 menu, it just said USB when it should have said USB Kingston DataTraveler so I thought I haven’t made a bootable USB or that I must use CSM (which you shouldn’t ever use).

Hope this helps someone.

On a side note: Ubuntu 15.04 (daily) is the only distro that works on my notebook. (14.04, 14.10 and Fedora 21 and 22 alpha freeze after a few minutes of usage - probably kernel issues)

 
1,173
Kudos
 
1,173
Kudos

Now read this

Running Fedora 22 Cloud Edition Virtual Machine on Windows Azure

Windows Azure is a great cloud computing platform. Sadly the support for Fedora virtual machines is virtually zero as of today (September 2015), so we are going to change that. I’ll show you how to run a virtual machine with Fedora 22... Continue →